The Stalking Project

Today, I have started editing on my Owensboro project.

The Owensboro project is to be a video snapshot of the town of Owensboro, KY.  Owensboro is a small town along the Ohio River.  It was, at one time, the third largest city in the Commonwealth of Kentucky; it has lost that place to Bowling Green, Ky.

Owensboro does have a long history.  The first settler of Owensboro was William Smothers, for whom Smothers Park, along the Ohio River, is named for.  The Lewis and Clark expedition spent a winter at Owensboro just before they began their historic trip out West.  The Owensboro Wagon Company, established in 1884, was one of the largest and most influential wagon companies in the nation. With nearly eight styles or sizes of wagons, the company set the standard of quality at the turn of the 20th century.  The Ames Motor Car Co. and the Ames Corporation, which manufactured furniture, were both founded in Owensboro.

Owensboro is like several other communities.   Does it continue to grow?  Or does it settle in for possible stagnation?

There are several reasons why I am pursuing this movie.  The first, and foremost, is I thought about this movie as a time capsule for the future.  This is how Owensboro was at this particular time, this is how the people felt and thought.  Secondly, it is part of my growth as a film maker, as a documentarian.  Not only is this subject local for me, it has forced me to conduct interviews with people, writing up the questions, finding places to conduct the interviews and the actual interviews themselves.

This has been an interesting learning experience.  The official name has not really been chosen as of yet, the original working title for this project was “The Stalking Project”, hence the name of this blog.  “The Stalking Project” grew out of some jokes between my friends and myself when I was telling them about photographing and videoing crowds of children in the parks.  I assure everyone that I will not make nor allow anyone else to make use of this footage for any project that is less than desirable.  Yes, this means I will be very careful with the footage of the children.  I’m really surprised that I haven’t experienced more trouble from the taping than I have experienced.  One parent questioned me, but he accepted my explanation about why I was photographing and taping him playing basketball with his son.  I’ve only been questioned by an officer of the law, deputy sheriff one time.  Standing on an overpass over Frederica Street, at around 6:30 A.M., a deputy sheriff stopped to make certain everything was all right.  (When I first pulled up to the spot where I wanted to tape from, it was still dark.  I left the emergency flashers on my car going so the truck drivers would know someone was around there.  It’s nice to know that they will contact law enforcement if they think a person is in trouble.)

Editing has started today.  I may need to film a little more footage.  I don’t know;   it will depend on what holes occur in the video portion.

I would like to thank Owensboro Mayor Ron Payne, Daviess County Judge Executive Al Mattingly, their staffs, Keith Lawrence and several other people who allowed me to interview them and who agreed to participating in my film.

Here’s to the fun part…

Leave a Reply

